Les Parapluies de Demy

As part of the French Contemporary Cinema class – which, thanks to the strikes will now be re-dubbed 60’s french cinema, because we never got any further then that – we dipped our toes into Demy today.

Les Parapluies de Cherbourg. I don’t know, it just get’s me every time. I’m not one for the love stories, but Legrand’s fabulous score, the ironic cinema references famous from nouvelle vague cineastes and Demy’s extraordinary use of colour are all pretty much enough to make my eyes well up.

So I sit here, on my Thursday night, huddled under the blankets with a heater that is not living up to it’s name, revisiting the film, a true work of art.

As the American’s might say…. Happy Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

