What I did this Sunday

Definitely the best Montpellier Sunday so far.

We started off at the “Flea” Market in Mosson, full of weird and wonderful things, stalls of (potentially stolen) car parts, the coolest kinds of crockery and so many great old French books. It was really pleasant our, maybe a little windy, but lovely all the same.
Their Sunday Market is quite similar to Camberwell Sunday Market…and I learnt I still have a lot to learn about market shopping. I bought nothing! But managed to watch fellow exchangies bargain up and not down (much to the good will of the stall holders, they did insist deux euro and not dix euro – the liaison makes it a little tricky to differentiate sometimes..).

IMG_2836IMG_2838

IMG_2841

IMG_2844

I managed to accidentally order the equivalent of your sausage sizzle sausage in a roll, but filled with chips! goodness! I thought that was only an English thing, but no. It was filling, to say the least…

Then I headed to centre-ville, my favourite thing to do, go wondering in Montpellier.
I bought some bread and then I wondered. I stumbled upon a small Church – a door that we walk past many times en route back to the Uni dorms. The door was/is always closed – as are all the grande doors of Montpellier – but open today, behind it revealed the most beautiful little Church, just tucked away where I had never noticed it before. Oh, the magic of old cities. Sadly, I was camera-less so no pictures.

I sat in the park, and looked at all the shops that were closed on a Sunday.
That old-school Catholic spirit that lingers in an old town like this full of history, but maybe it’s not such a bad thing.
The supermarket’s are closed, most of the clothes/shoe shops are closed too leaving us with the more important things to do with family and friends when one has the day off. It’s kind of great, you cannot do something as mediocre as grocery shopping on a Sunday, it makes it more special. It makes you value the time more.

18777_417_Affiche-Dubout

I also stumbled upon a free exhibition, Albert Dubout, in a small building in the park.
Dubout’s work was quaint, and somewhat comic – really cheeky and cute. He was obviously keen to exert his opinions and views on life and human behaviour through his work.
The Arena’s are great – all the emphasis and colour on the CROWD and no idea what is going on in the actual arena; the show is more about the people then the show.

As part of the Journée de Patrimone, we checked out the Université Montpellier I, the grande old architecture, everywhere. And Old Books! It was amazing.

All this was followed by the nicest meal I have had in France, at a friend-of-my-dad’s-friend’s house.
Another connection, another Australian in Montpellier, how lucky am I!
Seafood pasta, fresh lettuce, rosé, stewed peaches and a lovely sunset. How truly South-of-France.

IMG_2880We talked about the poor-uni-students-life (taking as many napkins as is still respectable, saving the extra baguette for dinner, loading your pockets with condiment sachets at any given chance), but sometimes I feel like I’m not playing at it properly when I get to run off and have lovely dinner’s like this!

Leave a Reply

